Bye-bye boom gates as level crossings gone for good - Public Transport Authority of Western Australia
  1. About us
  2. Our services
  3. Our system
  4. Projects
  5. Careers
  6. News

Media statements

/ Categories: PTA News

Bye-bye boom gates as level crossings gone for good

Boom gates at 12 notorious level crossings have closed for the last time, with a major transformation of the Armadale Train Line now underway.

The upgrades will see seven new stations built, including in the suburb of Byford for the first time, a total of 13 level crossings removed (Thomas Road over rail already delivered), 5.5km of elevated rail constructed and six hectares of new public open space created.

The Thornlie-Cockburn Link will also be delivered in parallel with the Armadale Line upgrade, which will see Perth's first east-west connecting rail between the Mandurah and Armadale Lines, and two new stations built at Nicholson and Ranford Road.

The combined works represent one of the biggest public transport infrastructure projects Western Australia has ever seen.

Among the level crossings being removed during the upgrades are:

  • Mint Street (boom gates down for 4 hours and 29 minutes each day)
  • Oats Street (boom gates down for 6 hours each day)
  • Welshpool Road (boom gates down for 4 hours and 28 minutes each day)
  • Hamilton Street (boom gates down for 4 hours and 33 minutes each day)
  • Wharf Street (boom gates down for 7 hours and 17 minutes each day)
  • Williams Street (boom gates down for 4 hours and 25 minutes each day)

The removal of the boom gates from the 12 level crossings will be among the first works completed.

Other essential works being delivered in the first few weeks include the decommissioning and removal of tracks and other infrastructure within the rail corridor, and the demolition of old stations that are set to be rebuilt.

Once demolition works are completed, piling for the new rail viaduct structure will begin.

To support the transformational upgrades, the Armadale Line will be shut for the duration of the works.

This will begin with a closure of the entire line to facilitate the installation of turn backs at Victoria Park Train Station.

Once the turn back upgrades have been completed, train services will resume between Victoria Park and the City on November 23.

A significant number of measures have been put in place to minimise disruptions and support commuters during the shut, including:

  • Installation of intelligent transport systems to improve traffic flow and bus movements
  • More than 100 additional buses being brought onto the network
  • 12 additional and enhanced bus routes
  • Three new temporary bus interchanges in Armadale, Cannington, and Victoria Park
  • 1.2 kilometres of new priority bus lanes along Albany Highway and Shepperton Road
  • Additional right turning restrictions on key arterial routes to improve safety and traffic flow
  • Establishment of a dedicated Main Roads Incident Response Service for Shepperton Road/Albany Highway

Nearly 18,000 regular Armadale Line passengers have had six months' free travel applied to their smart riders, in lieu of the disruption being caused to their commutes.

Although the line will be shut down, electricity will continue to run along the rail corridor. Entering restricted areas without authorisation is both highly dangerous and illegal.

Previous Article Improvements to be implemented for regional school bus eligibility
Next Article Leave the reindeer at home and travel to the Christmas Pageant with Transperth

Search news


The PTA acknowledges Traditional Owners of Country throughout Australia and recognises acknowledges Traditional Owners of Country throughout Australia and recognises the continuing connection to lands, waters and communities. We pay our respect to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultures; and to Elders past and present.   

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people are advised that this site may contain images or names of people who are deceased.

Copyright Disclaimer Terms Of Use Privacy Statement Webmail Copyright 2018 Public Transport Authority of Western Australia
Back To Top